Writers Guild of America Award announced, “Don’t Look Up” wins best screenplay


Recently, Writers Guild of America Award announced this year’s winners. In the end, the absurd comedy “Don’t Look Up” won the best screenplay; “CODA” won the best adapted screenplay.

Writers Guild of America Award announced, "Don't Look Up" wins best screenplay

It should be said that this result surprised many people.

That doesn’t mean the two movies will be smooth sailing at the Oscars, though.

The Screenwriters Guild of America’s determination of a film’s eligibility is much more complicated than the Oscars.

Therefore “The Power of the Dog”, “The Lost Daughter”, and “Belfast” were not shortlisted due to eligibility issues.

The Screenwriters Guild of America is one of the most important trade union organizations in the Hollywood film production system. The organization is divided into two branches: the western United States and the eastern United States.

The Screenwriters Guild of America is on a par with the Screen Actors Guild of America and the Directors Guild of America. The screenplay award winners it awards every year are also an important reference for the Oscars.

Full list of winners:

Best Original Screenplay for a Movie: “Don’t Look Up”

Best Adapted Screenplay: “CODA”

Best Documentary Screenplay: “Exposing Muybridge‎”

Best Drama Series Screenplay: “Succession”

Best Comedy Series Screenplay: “Hacks”

Best New Play Screenplay: “Hacks”

Best Original Screenplay: “Mare of Easttown”

Best Adapted Long-Program Screenplay: “Maid‎”

Best Animated Screenplay: “Tuca & Bertie ‎”

Best Script for a Drama Series: “Succession”

Best Comedy Series Screenplay: “The Great”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *