37th Independent Spirit Awards Winners Announced


The winners of the 37th Independent Spirit Awards in 2022 have been announced! 

The film “The Lost Daughter” written and directed by Maggie Gyllenhaal won three awards for Best Picture, Director and Screenplay. 

“Red Rocket‎” Simon Rex and “Zola” Taylor Paige won the Best Actor/Actress Award.

The Japanese film “Drive My Car” won Best International Film.

In the drama category, Jung-jae Lee won Best Actor for “Squid Game”.

37th Independent Spirit Awards Winners Announced

The Independent Spirit Awards is an important award in the Hollywood film industry to encourage independent filmmakers to create, rewarding films with a production cost of less than $22.5 million, equivalent to the Oscars of the independent film industry.

The award was officially established in 1984, and the members of the organization have included all independent filmmakers except the five major Hollywood studios.

Read on for the complete list of winners:

Best feature

A Chiara
C’mon C’mon
The Lost Daughter (WINNER)
The Novice

Best director

Janicza Bravo, Zola
Maggie Gyllenhaal, The Lost Daughter (WINNER)
Lauren Hadaway, The Novice
Mike Mills, C’mon, C’mon
Ninja Thyberg, Pleasure

Best female lead

Isabelle Fuhrman, The Novice
Brittany S. Hall, Test Pattern
Patti Harrison, Together Together
Taylor Paige, Zola (WINNER)
Kali Reis, Catch the Fair One

Best male lead

Clifton Collins Jr., Jockey
Frankie Faison, The Killing of Kenneth Chamberlain
Michael Greyeyes, Wild Indian
Udo Kier, Swan Song
Simon Rex, Red Rocket (WINNER)

Best supporting female

Jessie Buckley, The Lost Daughter
Amy Forsyth, The Novice
Ruth Negga, Passing (WINNER)
Revika Anne Reustle, Pleasure
Suzanna Son, Red Rocket

Best supporting male

Colman Domingo, Zola
Meeko Gattuso, Queen of Glory
Troy Kotsur, CODA (WINNER)
Will Patton, Sweet Thing
Chaske Spencer, Wild Indian

Best screenplay

Nikole Beckwith, Together Together
Maggie Gyllenhaal, The Lost Daughter (WINNER)
Janicza Bravo, Jeremy O. Harris, Zola
Mike Mills, C’mon C’mon
Todd Stephens, Swan Song

Best first screenplay

Lyle Mitchell Corbine Jr., Wild Indian
Shatara Michelle Ford, Test Pattern
Fran Kranz, Mass
Matt Fifer, Sheldon D. Brown, Cicada
Michael Sarnoski, Vanessa Block, Pig (WINNERS)

Best first feature

7 Days (WINNER)
Queen of Glory
Test Pattern
Wild Indian

Best cinematography

Lol Crawley, The Humans
Tim Curtin, A Chiara
Edu Grau, Passing (WINNER)
Ante Cheng, Matthew Chuang, Blue Bayou
Ari Wegner, Zola

Best editing

Affonso Gonçalves, A Chiara
Ali Greer, The Nowhere Inn
Joi McMillon, Zola (WINNER)
Enrico Natale, The Killing of Kenneth Chamberlain
Lauren Hadaway, Nathan Nugent, The Novice

Robert Altman Award


Best Documentary

In the Same Breath
Summer of Soul (WINNER)

Best international film

Compartment No. 6
Drive My Car (WINNER)
Parallel Mothers
Petite Maman
Prayers for the Stolen

Someone to Watch Award

Alex Camilleri, Luzzu (WINNER)
Gillian Wallace Horvat, I Blame Society
Michael Sarnoski, Pig

Truer Than Fiction Award

Angelo Madsen Minax, North by Current
Jessica Beshir, Faya Dayi (WINNER)
Debbie Lum, Try Harder!

John Cassavetes Award (for best feature made for under $500,000)

Shiva Baby (WINNER)
Sweet Thing
This Is Not a War Story

Producers Award

Brad Becker-Parton
Pin-Chun Liu
Lizzie Shapiro (WINNER)

Best new non-scripted or documentary series

Black and Missing (WINNER)
The Choe Show
The Lady and the Dale
Nuclear Family
Philly D.A.

Best new scripted series

It’s a Sin
Reservation Dogs (WINNER)
The Underground Railroad
We Are Lady Parts

Best female performance in a scripted series

Thuso Mbedu, The Underground Railroad (WINNER)
Anjana Vasan, We Are Lady Parts
Jana Schmieding, Rutherford Falls
Jasmine Cephas Jones, Blindspotting
Deborah Ayorinde, THEM: Covenant

Best male performance in a scripted series

Ollie Alexander, It’s a Sin
Murray Bartlett, The White Lotus
Michael Greyeyes, Rutherford Falls
Ashley Thomas, THEM: Covenant
Lee Jung-jae, Squid Game (WINNER)

Best ensemble cast in a new scripted series

Reservation Dogs

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *